

625 St. Joseph Street New Orleans, LA 70165 504.529.2837 or 52.WATER

March 12, 2024

The Strategy Committee met on Tuesday, March 12, 2024, in the Executive Boardroom. The meeting convened at approximately 10:30 a.m.

Present

Director Robin Barnes, Chair Director Maurice Sholas, M.D., Ph.D. Director Lynes R. Sloss Director Janet Howard Director Tyler Antrup

Members Absent:

Director Alejandra Guzman

PRESENTATION ITEMS

Grace Vogel, Sewerage and Water Board of New Orleans Environmental Affairs, gave an update of the Green Infrastructure Plan that was adopted in April of 2014. The efforts of the Green Infrastructure Plan consist of demonstration projects, K-12 educational curricula, workshops for professionals, businesses, residents, and community groups, and technical tools and studies to further the knowledge and shared understanding of green infrastructure concepts. Grace updated the committee on grant efforts and next steps for the plan, given that dedicated funding for the Green Infrastructure Plan has been nearly all allocated.

Executive Director Ghassan Korban explained to the committee that the source drainage funding is exclusively through property tax via three separate millages. The millages are subject to voter approval. The Sewerage and Water Board of New Orleans is exploring alternative sources of revenue and capital that can support green infrastructure. The Strategy Committee members engaged in a robust discussion about partnership and communications strategies for sustaining the Green Infrastructure Plan.

Board of Directors: Hon. LaToya Cantrell, President, Lynes R. Sloss, President Pro Tempore, Hon. Freddie King III, Robin Barnes, Alejandra Guzman, Janet Howard, Chadrick Kennedy, Joseph Peychaud, Tamika Duplessis, Ph.D., Maurice Sholas, M.D., Ph.D., Tyler Antrup



625 St. Joseph Street New Orleans, LA 70165 504.529.2837 or 52.WATER

Grace Birch, Sewerage and Water Board of New Orleans Communications Director, gave an update on the communications plan and goals for the next year.

PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the Strategy Committee, Director Sholas moved to adjourn. Director Howard seconded. The motion carried. The meeting adjourned at approximately 11:42 a.m.

Board of Directors: Hon. LaToya Cantrell, President, Lynes R. Sloss, President Pro Tempore, Hon. Freddie King III, Robin Barnes, Alejandra Guzman, Janet Howard, Chadrick Kennedy, Joseph Peychaud, Tamika Duplessis, Ph.D., Maurice Sholas, M.D., Ph.D., Tyler Antrup