

"RE-BUILDING THE CITY'S WATER SYSTEMS FOR THE 21ST CENTURY"

Sewerage & Water Board of New ORLEANS

MITCHELL J. LANDRIEU, President SCOTT JACOBS, President Pro-Tem 625 ST. JOSEPH STREET NEW ORLEANS, LA 70165 • 504-529-2837 OR 52W-ATER www.swbno.org

March 14, 2016

The Governance Committee met on Monday, March 14, 2016 in the 2nd Floor Board Room, 625 St. Joseph Street, New Orleans, LA. The meeting convened at 10:30 a.m.

PRESENT:

Kerri Kane, Chair Alan Arnold, Vice Chair Robin Barnes

ABSENT: Kimberly Thomas

OTHER COMMITTEE/BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT: None.

ACTION ITEMS:

1. Sewerage and Water Board of New Orleans Leak Adjustment Policy

Cedric S. Grant discussed the draft proposal of the Leak Adjustment Policy that was revised to reflect the legislative change which occurred in July 2015 with the enacting of R.S. 33:4071(F) that authorized the Sewerage and Water Board of New Orleans to adopt rules and procedures to adjust water bills as part of its provision to pursue legislative change to allow adjustments for water lost through customer leaks. After careful consideration, staff recommends adoption of these rules and procedures for the Sewerage and Water Board's Leak Adjustment Policy.

Kerri Kane asked how staff would inform the public of these changes. Staff would send out a public notice to the customers of the new changes.

Alan Arnold moved to accept the Sewerage and Water Board of New Orleans Leak Adjustment Policy as described in resolution (R-037-2016). Mrs. Robin Barnes seconded the motion. The motion carried.

PRESENTATION ITEMS:

2. There were no presentation items to come before the Governance Committee.

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business to come before the Governance Committee, the meeting adjourned at 10:40 a.m.

Also in attendance were Cedric S. Grant, Executive Director; Robert Miller, Deputy Director, CFO; Joseph Becker, General Superintendent; Bruce Adams, Deputy General Superintendent; Nolan Lambert, Special Counsel; Harold Marchand, Deputy Special Counsel; Kathleen LaFrance, Board Relations/Records Management Administrator; Sharon Judkins, Deputy Director of Administration; Valerie Rivers, Deputy Director of Logistics; Kimberly Johnson, Deputy Director of Continuous Improvement.

Respectfully submitted,

Mrs. Kerri Kane Chair